Posted on

Mmmmm, Delicious Sage Timberline Office Crashes!

A user here had a problem with Sage Timberline Office.  Well, not the actual Timberline software as much as the Sage Sim Desktop Notification application.  It just crashes immediately when logging in.

A lovely message displays the following:  

“Sage.Sim.DesktopNotification.SimNotify”

“Sage.Sim.DesktopNotification.SimNotify has encountered a problem and needs to close.  We are sorry for the inconvenience.”

The user already restarted the computer.  Same error.  OK. Fine.  I’ll just do a quick Google search and see if I can find a solution…

….

Oh, wait Sage keeps all of their important articles and solutions locked away in their Sage Portal.

OK fine, I’ll just login to that…oh, my account is locked.  How nice.  Unlocking it is fairly easy so that’s appreciated.  Now all I have to do is search their knowledge base and I’m out of here! …oh…their website doesn’t display properly in Firefox…sigh.

OK fine, I’ll use IE.  So I search their knowledge base and find this EXACT problem shown!  AWESOME!  There is only one solution shown – give the user “full permissions” to 2 folders.

I check the 2 folders and guess what, the user already had full permissions.

So now I have to call Sage Timberline Office support…but they aren’t open yet…guess I’ll update this entry later.

About scangittman

What's to know? I'm an IT guy...with a cat. Dissect that however you'd like...

2 responses to “Mmmmm, Delicious Sage Timberline Office Crashes!

  1. Kyle ⋅

    Did you ever come up with a solution for this? I’m running into the same issue currently.

    • HAHAHA I forgot to post back because it was such a lame solution.
      It’s not even a solution. If you’re not using the Sage Installation Manager to deploy T/L updates and such, you can just disable the service.
      Click START > RUN > type “services.msc” and press ENTER.
      In the services screen look for “Sage Installation Manager Client” or something like that and just right-click on it and choose STOP.
      Then set it to DISABLE.
      That should be it.
      That’s straight from the horse’s mouth (Timberline Tech Support).
      If you have any questions let me know!

Leave a comment